## HISTORY OF SCOUTING IN ALLENDALE

Scouting was first organized in Allendale in late 1916. The first Troop was organized with the Rev. Charles Woodruff as Chairman of the Troop Committee and his associates were Willard Alling, Arthur Tomalin, Harry Hartt and A. E. Atkinson. Robert A. Phar was the first Scout Master. The Troop was active in World War 1, selling War Bonds and collecting waste paper.

In the early days of Scouting all Troops were directed from National Headquarters, and as the movement grew it was found that smaller directing units were needed so the county was divided up into regions and councils. Allendale was made a member of North Bergen County Council and the Troop number was changed from 1 to 59. This breaking down into smaller units helped greatly because Troops could compete with each other through organized activities conducted by the Council.

The following men have served as Scout Masters since the start of Scouting: Robert A. Phair, Harry C. Hartt, Daniel L. Dargue, Walter R. Hillman, Jonas C. Clain, George Price, Frederick L. Savage, Harry M. Lampa, Elwood T. Critchley, Arthur A. Albert, and William B. Buhlman.

Except for a very few years, Scouting in Allendale has always been sponsored by the Archer Memorial Church. During the last few years the Church has been very generous in allowing the use of Archer Hall for Scouting purposes, and Rev. Herbert A. Sawyer has given a large portion of his time to Scouting, particularly in the organization of the Cub Pack and the new Senior Scout Unit.

The highest rank in Scouting is that of Eagle Scout. The following members of Troop 59 have reached Eagle rank—Norman Farrell, David Kaplan, Charles Buchholtz, Daniel Hamilton, Robert Simpson, Bradley Dargue, Robert Roswell, John Hover, Robert Secor, Richard Davis, William McPeek, Samuel Pritchett and the Scout Master, William Buhlman.

During World War II, Troop 59 was one of the first Troops to start collecting all sorts of salvage material for war use—paper 409,405 pounds, metal 24,000 pounds, rubber 4,000 pounds, aluminum 2,000 pounds. Nineteen members of the Troop qualified for the General Eisenhower medal for collecting 1,000 pounds of paper during the months of March and April 1945. The following members of the Troop served in the armed forces: Arthur H. Albert, David Berdan, Norman Farrell, David Kaplan, Arthur Lamb, Samuel M. Phitchett, Harold W. Scott, Jr., Harry M. Lampa, James Hummer, John Breads, John Strangfeld, Edward Hamilton, Martin P. Hamilton, Ray V. Jones, Jr., Russell Jenkins, William Phair, Herbert W. Flandreau, Jr., and Robert McPeek. Since the end of the war Robert Roswell, Charles Buchholtz, Bradley Dargue and Robert Simpson have entered the service. The Troop observed its 25th Anniversary in May, 1945.

Members of the Troop Committee are: L. R. McPeek, Norman Kershaw, Roy Quackenbush, John Gasko, Harvey W. Beswick and Rev. Herbert A. Sawyer. The new leaders of the Troop are David Kaplan, Scout Master and James Hummer, Assistant Scout Master.

During 1940 a few of the younger boys in town expressed a desire to be members of a Cub Pack. Cubbing is for boys of 9 to 11 years of age. After a series of meetings with the parents of the boys the Pack was organized on May 30th, 1943 with Frederick Hasenbalg as Cub Master. After a year Harvey Beswick became Cub Master.

## HISTORY OF SCOUTING-Continued

During the past two years the Pack has graduated twelve boys into Troop 59 and during the coming year approximately sixteen boys will be graduated. The present Pack Committee is made up of John H. Tucker, Thorleif Berntsen, William Anderson, Hadley Ford, Arden Bradley, William Dunsby and Leslie Johnson. The Den Mothers are Mrs. Edwin Grossman, Mrs. Leslie Hudson, Mrs. Edwin Hall and Mrs. John H. Tucker. Members of the Boy Scout Troop are assigned to the Pack to serve as Den Chiefs and at the present the following Scouts are acting as Den Chiefs: Wayne Beswick, Roderick Morgan, Arthur Davis and James Ferenbach.

Recently a demand has risen for the formation of a Senior Scout Unit for the toys fifteen years of age to eighteen. After several meetings with Paul A. Clundt, Field Executive, the Unit Committee of Joseph H. Stehn, Chairman, Russel N. Jenkins, Frank A. Farrell, Robert W. Cunningham, James W Secor and A. Vail Frost will serve. William B. Buhlman and Richard B. Miller are the Unit leaders. Charter members of the Unit are John Hover, Lloyd Buchholtz, Thomas Byrne, Richard Davis, Jay Landgraf, John McGowan, John Occhipinti, Robert Secor and John Schmidheini.

## North Jersey Paper Co., Inc. MILL DISTRIBUTORS

SADDLE RIVER, N. J.

Packaging Materials, Janitor Items and other supplies for Frozen Food Plants, Factories, Farmers,

Institutions and Stores

When you are in need of any of the merchandise or services offered by our advertisers who made this anniversary booklet possible, we would appreciate it if you would call on them.